Nebraska is the 22nd state to ban texting while driving for all drivers.
The bill (LB945), which will go into effect July 1, passed last week and will make texting while driving a so-called secondary offense. In other words, drivers would have to be pulled over for primary offenses, such as speeding, before they could be ticketed for texting.
Violators could face fines up to $200.00. Repeat offenders would face $300 fines while subsequent offenses would result in $500 fines. Each violation would assess three points against a person’s driver’s license.
Governors in Iowa and Wyoming recently signed texting ban laws. And governors in Kentucky and Wyoming are expected to sign similar bills.
InjuryBoard has several articles about texting bans across several states.